10 new Nigerian music videos you need to see

8875

Falz, StarBoy, Phyno, Yemi Alade, Burna Boy… Because the Afrobeats hits have been blowing us away lately, Prospect selects for you the 10 best Nigerian videos that have surfaced over the last month.

Tekno – ‘Jogodo’

 

In the video, we see Tekno wander the streets of Lagos in search of a beautiful woman, who he finds amidst the chaos of the marketplace. “Jogodo” is definitely the best thing Tekno’s dropped this year — easily surpassing his last two releases, “Anyhow” and “Yur Luv“.

Falz – ‘This Is Nigeria’

 

In Falz’s response to Gambino’s iconic ‘This Is America‘, the Nigerian rappers highlights issues of Boko Haram’s kidnapping of girls and government’s slow response, drug addiction among the youth, corruption, conmen masquerading as pastors as well as the society’s preoccupation with reality TV shows among other issues. Heavy stuff.

StarBoy x Wizkid x Duncan Mighty – ‘Fake Love’

 

“Fake Love” is a highlife-tinged banger that finds Duncan Mighty and Wizkid singing about an age-old celebrity problem: not knowing if someone’s only with them for the money and fame.

Burna Boy – ‘Devil In California’

 

Three months ago, Burna Boy dropped his incredible mixtape, Outside, and it’s still the best body of work by a Nigerian artist this year. He now shares new visuals for the song ‘Devil in California‘, taking us on a hazy trip accross Los Angeles.

Wavy The Creator – ‘Shaku (Dance)’

 

Wavy The Creator is the latest artist who jumps on the shaku craze that we’ve been watching for the past six months or so. Although as we can expect from the unconventional artist, she does so with her own spin and rocks it.

Falz x SIMI – ‘Foreign’

 

Directed by Aje Filmworks, the video follows Simi and Falz as they make up totally unbelievable stories in a buka. As expected, the video hilariously ends with neither of them being able to afford their meals.

Phyno x Olamide – ‘Onyeoma’

 

For this other Clarence Peters-directed clip, Phyno and Olamide try to come up with a concept for the video. They eventually decide to go through social media to see how fans reacted to the song’s message, and that ends up being the entire video.

DJ Spinall x Kizz Daniel – ‘Baba’

 

As for the surprisingly basic music video for ‘Baba’, which was shot by Director Q, DJ Spinall goes the exact same route he did with “Nowo” (also shot by Director Q) — using a massive party to remind anyone watching what his songs are about.

Yemi Alade x Westsyde – ‘Kpirim’ (Dance Video)

 

Yemi Alade enlisted the dance group Westsyde to perform in the dance video for ‘Kpirim‘. The best thing about the colourful video is the lack of a set structure with Westsyde’s choreography, as the dancers just seem to be vibing to the catchy song.

Yung L – ‘Anya’

 

Off his debut album Better Late Than Never, dancehall artist Yung L serves up the visuals to the fan favourite tune – “Anya”. The visuals were directed by Clarence Peters (again!).

 


Article Tags: · · · · · · · · · · · ·

VOUS DEVRIEZ AUSSI AIMER:

Les 10 meilleures videos naija du mois

8024

Falz, StarBoy, Phyno, Burna Boy, Dj Spinall… Parce que les hits nigérians ne se sont jamais enchainés à un rythme aussi élevé, Prospect sélectionne pour vous les 10 meilleurs clips naija qui ont fait surface au cours du mois passé.

Tekno – ‘Jogodo’

 

Tekno nous emmène à travers les rues de Lagos pour illustrer ‘Jogodo‘, le meilleur single qu’il ait sorti depuis le début de l’année. C’est dans le décors chaotique de la place du marché qu’il retrouve sa dulcinée. Un morceau entêtant et un clip de très bon goût.

Falz – ‘This Is Nigeria’

 

Falz fait rimer afropop et conscience politique dans sa parodie du clip désormais iconique ‘This Is América‘ de Childish Gambino. Avec sa version ‘This Is Nigeria‘ le rappeur réussit l’exploit de mettre en scène les difficultés socio-politiques du Nigeria, entre violence et corruption. Un coup d’éclat qui devrait lui valoir de belles retombées.

StarBoy x Wizkid x Duncan Mighty – ‘Fake Love’

 

Dans ce clip réalisé par le stakhanoviste Clarence Peters, Wizkid et Duncan Mighty abordent l’éternel problème des célébrités : ne jamais réellement savoir si leurs conquêtes sont avec eux seulement pour l’argent et la gloire.

Burna Boy – ‘Devil In California’

 

Il y a trois mois Burna Boy sortait son excellent projet Outside, qui est encore le meilleur format album venu du Nigeria cette année. L’artiste nigérian partage à présent de nouveaux visuels pour la chanson ‘Devil in California’ toujours tirée de Outside. Burna Boy a justement profité de sa récente tournée dans l’ouest américain pour filmer les images du clip.

Wavy The Creator – ‘Shaku (Dance)’

 

Comme beaucoup d’artistes nigériens au cours des six derniers mois, Wavy The Creator s’empare ici du phénomène ‘Shaku’, mais elle le fait selon ses propres termes, avec son esthétique unique, sonore et visuelle.

Falz x SIMI – ‘Foreign’

 

C’est la spécialité de Falz de faire des chansons tellement drôles qu’on se rapproche de la comédie, mais ici, Simi le challenge volontiers. Les deux artistes en pleine mythomanie se racontent des histoires ubuesques et livrent une clip hilarant.

Phyno x Olamide – ‘Onyeoma’

 

Dans cette autre vidéo signée Clarence Peters, Phyno et Olamide réfléchissent à un concept pour leur prochain clip. Ils cherchent l’inspiration en regardant les réactions de leurs fans au message du morceau sur les réseaux sociaux.

DJ Spinall x Kizz Daniel – ‘Baba’

 

La video de ‘Baba‘ est aussi efficace que basique. DJ Spinall reprend la même formule que pour le clip ‘Nowo‘ (également réalisé par Director Q) : une grosse teuf pour bien rappeler à tout le monde que sa musique est faite pour danser.

Yemi Alade x Westsyde – ‘Kpirim’ (Dance Video)

 

Sans hésitation la meilleure dance video du mois de mai. Yemi Alade a confié la chorégraphie aux danseurs de la troupe Westsyde qui proposent une prestation déstructurée et très inspirée.

Yung L – ‘Anya’

 

Tiré de son premier album Better Late Than Never, l’artiste dancehall Yung L partage les visuels de l’extrait favori de ses fans : ‘Anya‘. Le clip est (encore !) signé Clarence Peters.


Article Tags: · · · · · · · · · · · ·

VOUS DEVRIEZ AUSSI AIMER: